How long is a boat safety certificate valid for?

Regulations for the use of motorboats

If you are looking to work at sea and turn your passion for the sea into your job, the first step to achieve it is to obtain the Basic Training Certificate in Maritime Safety. This Basic Training Certificate will allow you to perform professional maritime work on any type of vessel.

In the field of recreational boating, this certificate is necessary to obtain the qualification of Professional Recreational Boating Skipper (PPER) and for the attached qualifications that allow certain professional services to the holders of Recreational Boating Skipper (PER), Yacht Skipper and Yacht Captain.

In Cenáutica we advise you on what you need to enjoy your hobby of sailing. Our team of instructors and advisors are at your disposal. Contact us by filling out the form below:

When does the seaworthiness certificate expire?

The Certificate of seaworthiness, which must accompany the Navigation Permit, is valid indefinitely, although it is necessary to request its renewal when any of the characteristics it contains are modified, whether it is a change of name, navigation area, etcetera.

Who certifies the safety of the vessel’s equipment?

International Ship Security Certificate.

What certificate does the National Vessel Register issue?

Certificates of Registration and Certificates of Registration

The National Vessel Registry is the authority in charge of the granting of these certificates pursuant to the provisions of Article 54 and concordant articles of Law No. 20.094 – Navigation Law.

Read more  How long do health and safety certificates last?

What is a statutory certificate

Regulation (EU) 2016/1628 on requirements relating to gaseous and particulate pollutant emission limits and type approval for internal combustion engines to be installed in non-road mobile machinery.

Directive (EU) 2016/1629 lays down technical requirements for inland waterway vessels. It lays down technical requirements for the safety of navigation on inland waterways listed in an annex, which are classified as zones 1, 2, 3 or 4, in addition to zone R (special provisions for the Revised Convention on Rhine Navigation). It does not apply to ferries, military vessels and most seagoing vessels, including tugs and pusher craft temporarily navigating in inland waters.

EU countries must ensure that vessels operating on EU inland waterways are constructed and maintained in accordance with this Directive. Before a vessel is put into service, an inland navigation certificate must be issued following a technical inspection.Identification

What is an International Ship Security Certificate?

It is the document through which the National Maritime Authority certifies that the port facility has complied with the requirements and requirements of the Ship and Port Facility Security Code, ISPS.

How is the Certificate of seaworthiness renewed?

You must go to a Collaborating Inspection Entity at least 15 calendar days prior to the expiration date of the Certificate of Seaworthiness. The Maritime Captaincy will be able to inform you of the Collaborating Entities that exist in your area.

How much does it cost to renew the Certificate of Seaworthiness?

As the size of the vessel depends on the type of vessel, the cost of the procedure does not have a fixed amount. This is due to the fact that the inspection is what is really charged in this procedure, however there is an estimate that ranges from 150 euros to 1000 or more.

Read more  What are calibration requirements?

Certificate of seaworthiness

The Certificate of Specialty of Basic Training in Maritime Safety is the minimum necessary and its possession will be required to all personnel who are part of the ship’s crew and who exercise professional maritime functions, as well as to those who are entrusted with safety or pollution prevention tasks related to the ship’s operations, by virtue of the Ship’s Table of Obligations and Duties, the Shipboard Emergency Plan in case of Oil Pollution or the Safety Management Manual.

The Basic Maritime Safety Training course is made up of 4 modules: survival at sea, fire prevention and fighting, first aid and personal safety and social responsibilities, and aims to provide basic safety notions to be able to prevent and deal with dangerous situations that may arise on board the vessel.

The duration of the course is 70 hours, of which 45 hours of theoretical content and 25 hours of practical content. The course is face-to-face. Non-attendance is only allowed for 10% of the theoretical hours. The practical part must be completed in its entirety.

Who is responsible for designing the ship security plan?

International Maritime Organization; OPB. Ship Security Officer; PFSO.

Who is authorized to complete a Declaration of Security on board the ship?

Ship security officer: the person on board the ship, responsible to the master, designated by the company to be responsible for the security of the ship, including the implementation and enforcement of the ship security plan and coordination with the company’s security officer and the ship’s security officers.

What is the Ship Security Plan and who approves it?

In accordance with the requirements of the ISPS Code, ships shall carry on board a Ship Security Plan (SSP) to be approved by the Administration, and operate in accordance with it.

List of safety elements for boats

Enclosing this certificate and the completion of the reduced course, in which we save from 2 to 6 hours over the full maintenance of competence course, we can apply for our new Certificate at the corresponding Captaincy.

Read more  What is a PTS certificate?

The second, is a full competency maintenance course, for those who have not been embarked on merchant or fishing vessels of at least 24 meters in length during the previous period.

Resolution of February 2, 2017, of the Directorate General of the Merchant Navy, developing the procedure for the revalidation of certificates of proficiency of the Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW).

The Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers, done at London on 7 July 1978 (STCW Convention), and Directive 2008/106/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 19 November 2008 on the minimum level of training of seafarers, in their current form according to the Manila amendments, introduce changes affecting the certificates of proficiency for Basic Safety Training, Survival Craft and Non-Speed Rescue Boats, Speed Rescue Boats and Advanced Fire Fighting, referred to in Chapter VI of the Annex to the STCW Convention, which have become time-barred.